Bhutan and the United Nations
Bhutan became the 128th member of the United Nations on 21 September 1971, thereby accepting the values and principles of the organization. The Office of the United Nations in Bhutan was established in early 1974. Since then, the country has been home to UN agencies, funds, and programmes that work as a team to respond to national development needs and improve the economic and social conditions of people of Bhutan.

Bhutan flag raising UN 1971 UN Photo Teddy Chen

Flag-raising ceremony held at the UN Headquarters on 22 September, 1971. (c) UN Photo by Teddy Chen

Six UN agencies, funds and programmes have formal resident representation while 12 others support the country from their regional offices or the UN headquarters. The resident UN agencies form the UN Country Team (UNCT), which is led by the UN Resident Coordinator.

UN Agencies, Funds and Programmes in Bhutan: 

Resident Agencies:

  1. Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO)
  2. UN Development Programme (UNDP)
  3. UN Population Fund (UNFPA)
  4. UN Children’s Fund (UNICEF)
  5. World Food Programme (WFP)
  6. World Health Organization (WHO)

Non-Resident Agencies:

  1. International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD)
  2. Joint UN Programme on HIV/AIDS (UNAIDS)
  3. UN Capital Development Fund (UNCDF)
  4. UN Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)
  5. UN-Habitat
  6. UN Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO)
  7. UN Education, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)
  8. UN Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment for Women (UN Women)
  9. UN Environment Programme (UNEP)
  10. UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA)
  11. UN Office for Project Services (UNOPS)
  12. UN Organization for Drug and Crime (UNODC)
  13. UN Volunteers Programme (UNV)